Monday’s Aren’t So Bad After All…

My whole life I’ve always hated Mondays. It is the first day back to work or school after the weekend. You’re exhausted and would do ANYTHING to stay in bed for a few more hours…or even all day!

Luckily I don’t have to wake up at 5:30-6:00 a.m. to go to work anymore because I’ve been blessed with a flexible (but time consuming) job. I just want to state that just because I work from home DOESN’T MEAN that I’m just sitting around eating ice cream out of the carton and browsing Facebook all day (I will say that I take a few brain breaks during the day and scroll down my newsfeed when I experience writer’s block). I wake up, eat breakfast and WORK. I have a supervisor (who is awesome) and receive paychecks. Just like everyone else. The beauty of it is that I can begin my day when I want (only if I don’t have events/interviews to attend that day) and work from the comfort of my own home.

Yesterday I woke up around 8:00 a.m., ate homemade protein balls for breakfast and worked from 8:15 until 4:00 with a quick break for lunch sometime in between. I work for our local newspaper, so my days are spent writing stories from events I attended or about people being featured for something special they’ve done. Usually 2 or 3 days of the week are spent out in the field attending these events or talking to these people while taking photos. Sometimes I attend things on the weekends as well.

David had worked all night the night before, so he was just waking up as I was wrapping up my day. We watched an episode of LOST, “Face Timed” with my in-laws who are currently in Ukraine adopting their new son and then we went to our favorite place…the GYM! I was more than ready to pump some iron.

I did a killer arm workout that left them super sore this morning! I usually use anywhere between 12-20 pound weights, it just depends on the exercise.

untitled

After leaving the gym, David and I rushed home, showered and headed out for an impromptu date night. It was a gorgeous evening, so we decided to take the dogs with us. We unanimously decided on Jason’s Deli because we wanted something quick and healthy…with free frozen yogurt of course! We sat outside and ate our salad and sandwich while the dogs begged for scraps.

David and I concluded the evening with a nice stroll around UGA’s campus. Whenever we take the dogs out in public EVERYONE stops and comments on/pets them. Maybe it’s because they are funny looking. I guess that is what it feels like to be a celebrity!

I really need to get better about taking pictures regularly so I can include them with my posts!

Today has been pretty successful. I worked all morning and then met Whitney, Scott, Tiffany and her cute little boy Bryce for lunch at Houndstooth Grill in Braselton to discuss a story I’m going to write about them in the paper. They all run a blog called He & She Eat Clean (http://www.heandsheeatclean.com/). WordPress is being dumb and won’t let me put the hyperlink in the title….grrr. Anyway, you should check out their blog because there is a TON of valuable information regarding health, fitness and clean eating.  We all ordered grilled chicken salads at lunch which were light and refreshing.

photo

I’ll be back later with another post! I need to finish up my work for the day.

Leave a Reply

