Low-Carb Pizza

Let me just begin this post with I AM NOT ON A LOW-CARB DIET. The human body needs carbs to function, especially if you’re active and work out on a regular basis. I love carbs. I love oatmeal, quinoa, fruit, pancakes…mmm carby goodness. They are delicious and I crave them all the time. I just thought I’d try out this recipe to see if it really does work and if it tastes good.

Along with ice cream, pizza is also one of my favorite foods. It can be very unhealthy for you, so I like to find ways to lighten it up and still make it taste delicious.

Yes, you can use whole-wheat crust to make a “healthier” pizza, but the pre-made dough is usually full of gross ingredients that I cannot pronounce. I’ve tried to make my own pizza dough, but have failed several times. I always end up with a gooey, sticky mess! Any tricks on how to make perfect pizza dough?

Anyway, here is what I used. I adapted this recipe from one of my favorite blogs, He & She Eat Clean.

photo 1 (1)

*1 pound ground chicken (you could use beef or turkey)
*1/2 cup rolled oats
*Grated parmesan cheese (use however much you’d like)
*Pizza seasoning (use however much you’d like…the mix I used included oregano, marjoram, granulated garlic, and basil)
*Extra dried basil, oregano, garlic powder (you can use whatever seasonings you like)
*2 egg whites
*Pizza sauce
*Toppings (I used zucchini, bell pepper, red onion, and tomato…just be sure you brown the veggies in a skillet with a little olive oil before you add them to the pizza)
*Cheese (I used a little bit of a mixed shredded cheese blend)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix the meat, oats, parmesan cheese, egg whites and seasonings in a bowl.
photo 2 (1)

Form the mixture on a pizza stone into a square or circle…whatever shape you want your pizza to be! This will be your crust.photo 3

Bake the crust for 20 minutes. Meanwhile, chop your veggies and sautee them in a pan with a drop of olive oil for a few minutes. If you put them directly on the pizza, they will still be crunchy and sort of raw when it comes out of the oven. Just sautee the veggies until they are about half-cooked.
photo (10)

When the crust has baked for 20 minutes, remove it from the oven and top your pizza. I added the sauce, then a sprinkling of cheese, then veggies, then another sprinkling of cheese. I topped it off with a dusting of grated parmesan cheese.

Now, place your pretty pizza into the oven until the cheese is melted and the crust starts to brown around the edges.photo (11)

Enjoy!

What are your favorite pizza toppings?

Leave a Reply

