Raw “Ice Cream”

I know that this recipe is all over Pinterest (that’s where I found it), but I thought I’d share my success story with it!

My absolute FAVORITE dessert is ice cream. Hands down. I love it all–vanilla, chocolate, strawberry, cookie dough…my mouth is watering just thinking about it. I am not against eating real ice cream and I do eat it from time to time as a treat, but the problem is that I want it all the time. I could easily sit down with a container and down half of it if you let me. Ice cream isn’t the healthiest item on the grocery store shelves, so I decided to try out this raw “ice cream” to satisfy my craving for a cold, creamy dessert.

This recipe is so simple and only requires a handful of ingredients.

Here is what you’ll need:

*3 frozen bananas (let your bananas get nice and speckled with brown spots before you peel ’em and throw ’em in the freezer)
*Large scoop of peanut or almond butter (No need to measure)
*1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder (Optional…it’s just as good with just the first two ingredients)

I apologize for the low quality photos. Below is the raw ice cream without the cocoa powder.

c7883844adf611e29d6822000a9e0849_5

Roughly chop the bananas into chunks (to help out your food processor) and place them into said food processor with the peanut/almond butter and unsweetened cocoa powder. Pulse until it is smooth and creamy. You may have to stop and start a little bit because the chunks of banana tend to stick around the walls of the food processor. Just knock them back toward the blade and keep going until it reaches your desired consistency.

Below is the raw ice cream with the cocoa powder.
55472deabd9a11e290a322000a9f1438_5

This doesn’t turn out like regular full-fat ice cream. It is sort of like frozen yogurt, but it is oh-so delicious. Feel free to add your own toppings/flavors such as granola, nutella, chocolate chips, sprinkles, or nuts. This recipe makes 2 big servings.

Enjoy!

What is your favorite dessert?

Leave a Reply

