Natural Energy Booster Drink

This is one of those creations that stemmed from me throwing whatever I had in the fridge into the blender. I was really craving something super refreshing and packed full of vitamins that would fuel me after an early morning workout, and this certainly did the trick! It actually made me feel much better than drinking a cup of coffee and I felt ready to take on this lovely Thursday.

I’d like to thank my friend Megan for inspiring me to start my day on such a healthy note. She always tells me about her yummy veggie-packed juices that she drinks in lieu of coffee, so I was ready to try my own version. You should definitely check out her blog because she is an excellent writer and has some scrumptious vegan recipes on there.

Anyway, I totally made this juice with a blender, so you do not need a juicer to make this.

I added two big handfuls of raw, organic baby spinach first.
photo 5 (1)

Then, I diced 1/4 of a large cucumber and threw that into the blender with the spinach followed by two dollops/spoonfuls of unsweetened applesauce.

photo 3 (3)
photo 4 (2)

I squeezed in the juice of one lemon and made sure the seeds did not fall into my concoction. You don’t want to find lemon seeds in your mouth. I guess it really wouldn’t matter since everything gets blended together anyway….just to be safe though!
photo 2 (4)

I then added 5-7 medium frozen strawberries. You can add more if you want this drink to be sweeter, but anywhere between 5-7 should be perfect.
photo 2 (5)

I added a packet of stevia, but next time I make this I will omit it. The strawberries and unsweetened applesauce gave this drink the perfect amount of sweetness.
photo 1 (6)
Lastly, I poured enough water into the blender to get everything moving. You could add orange juice, apple juice or even lemonade if you want things to be a bit sweeter.

AND VOILA! After a nice blend, my natural energy booster drink was complete. I know that it does not look pretty, but I think it tasted great and it was chock full of veggie goodness.

photo 1 (5)

I am definitely going to make this tomorrow morning as well. I hope you all like it!

One thought on “Natural Energy Booster Drink

Leave a Reply

