My Experience With Freezer Cooking

Has anyone else seen the freezer cooking craze that’s been happening on Pinterest? I definitely have, and I must say, I was intrigued when I first saw it.

Freezer cooking is supposed to help save money on grocery bills, save time on cooking during the busy week, and hopefully cut back on time cleaning the kitchen. Basically you choose several crock-pot meals, make a master list, buy everything you need at once, and spend an entire day/half a day prepping these meals.

Each meal is placed into a gallon-sized Ziploc baggie, labeled, flattened and put into the freezer, like so:

IMG_2174Source

Every evening, you’re supposed to remove one from the freezer, let it thaw and then dump it into the crock-pot the next day. When it’s finished, dinner is ready with little to no effort. Easy peasy, right?

Easy peasy IS right. I decided to try this method of cooking a few days before I left for New York. David was scheduled to work all weekend, so I wanted him to have easy meals that were both healthy and delicious–little to no effort! It was so nice to not have to worry about cooking and dirtying up the kitchen every night.

Here is what I made:

1. Teriyaki Chicken (Delicious.Served with wheat noodles & broccoli.)
2. Teriyaki Beef (I did not like this, but David did. The beef was too chewy.)
3. Buffalo Chicken (Have not tried this one yet.)
4. Pesto Chicken (Delicious. Served this with wheat bowtie pasta, marinara sauce, & salad.)
5. Fajita Chicken (Delicious. Served this with Ezekiel tortillas, avocado, cheese, & salad.)
7. BBQ Pork Tenderloin (David made sandwiches with this one. I didn’t try it.)
8. Simple Pork Tenderloin (I just added some beef broth, spices and 1 diced yellow onion. I didn’t try it. David liked it.)
9. BBQ Apple Chicken (David loved this one. He made sandwiches with it.)
10. Tropical Island Chicken (My own recipe…I added orange juice, a can of pineapple in juice, 1 diced red onion, and various spices. David loved this one with brown rice. I didn’t try it since I was out of town.)
11. Chunky Beef Stew (I bought stewing beef…yuck…so tough.)

I used and adapted most of these recipes from this blog. There are so many to choose from! I’m not an avid recipe follower, so I basically put my own spin on the ones I chose. For example, some of the recipes call for a packet of taco or ranch seasoning. I just make my own with the spices I have on hand because the packets are so full of junk and sodium.

This seriously made life so much easier. I normally cook the meat for about 6 hours on low, and when it was time to eat, I’d quickly prepare a side dish like baked sweet potato, brown rice, quinoa, pasta, salad, veggies, etc. This also helped with cleaning because once dinner was over, all that needed to be done is stick the plates in the dishwasher and put the leftovers in the fridge. That’s it.

This was my first time attempting freezer cooking, so I will write a post in the next few weeks with more specific details/recipes. I am already excited about it!

Leave a Reply

