Double Chocolate Coffee Protein Shake

One of my go-to breakfasts during the summer are protein shakes or smoothies. Heavy bowls of hot oatmeal or eggs don’t really work for me during this season since it is so hot outside–cold smoothies are refreshing for these humid, hot days. They are also so easy to make and customize.

I’ve recently discovered that I’m sensitive to lactose, so I try to stay away from dairy products and whey protein. I ordered some Vega (dairy and soy free) protein packets to try since so many people recommended this brand (shout out to one of my besties Megan Britt), and so far I love the chocolate flavor. I still have to try the Vanilla and Berry and I cannot wait. I used the chocolate in this morning’s protein shake–which was delicious! Try it for yourself!

I used:
20140725_083507_resized
*1 packet chocolate Vega protein powder (it looked equivalent to one scoop)
*Approximately 1/2 cup ice
*1 packet instant coffee
*1 scoop all-natural peanut butter
*1 capful vanilla extract
*1 teaspoon cocoa powder (the protein powder is usually enough chocolate flavor, I just like mine with extra cocoa goodness)
*1 packet stevia
*Enough almond milk to get everything moving (maybe 3/4 to 1 cup)

Throw everything into a blender and blend until smooth. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

