My Favorite Healthy Cookie Recipe

I thought I’d share a recipe from my friends over at He & She Eat Clean. Those guys have some of the most delicious and healthy recipes. Be sure to check them out! I discovered this recipe when my sweet teeth tooth was in full force, but I didn’t want to indulge in anything too sugary. To me, peanut butter and chocolate is a match made in heaven. This simple cookie recipe contains both of those magnificent ingredients which makes them a winner in my book. Thanks to He & She Eat Clean for this amazing recipe that I make at least twice a week. David and I usually finish off the entire batch in two days or less. Pair one of these cookies with a scoop of vanilla ice cream for the ultimate dessert. I took the photo below from their website because I can never remember to take a photo of these.

heandsheeatcleancookies

(Healthy) Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Almond Butter Cookies

1 cup almond butter (or peanut butter)
¼ cup oats (I like to use the quick cook kind)
¼ cup sucanat sugar (I use baking stevia)
1 large egg
1 capful pure vanilla extract (this is my own addition)
¾ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt Chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Mix all ingredients in a medium-sized bowl. Place mounds of cookie dough onto a parchment lined cookie sheet or pizza stone (the pizza stone keeps my cookies soft). I like bigger cookies, so I use a regular spoon to scoop my dough, which makes about 10-12 servings. You can always make them smaller. Bake the cookies for 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned. Let the cookies cool for a few minutes, if you’re patient. Transfer to a wire rack to allow the cookies to continue to cool if you want. I usually eat them hot out of the oven because they are so good and I have a hard time waiting for them to cool. Serve with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

