Throwback Thursday: How David & I Met

I love the Throwback Thursday hashtag that goes around Facebook every week. I love seeing everyone’s photos from way back when, and I love participating as well. It is so much fun to go through old photos and share them with friends to get a good laugh. Earlier, I was thinking about what I wanted to blog about, and decided to go the Throwback Thursday route and write about how David and I met. It is not one of those stories where we were friends all through childhood, started dating when we were 18 and got married. We sort of have a fast track story, but we love it and could not be happier! Here goes.

Graduating from college was kind of a scary time for me. Yes, I finally had my Bachelor’s degree, but I graduated during a time where the economy was not doing too well and jobs were difficult to find. Needless to say, I did not have a job lined up even after job searching for several months and I did not have a future husband to depend on like a lot of Samford girls did. Literally everybody at Samford University, my alma mater, partners up and gets married the summer after graduation. That meant that the only option I had was to move back into my parent’s house and continue the job search. It was so hard to see everyone marrying off, moving into their first homes and starting new jobs while I was sitting at my parent’s house, jobless. I am very grateful for my parent’s support during that time, but it was still hard. I eventually found a job, so all was well!

I will never forget the summer of 2010, the summer after I graduated from college. My mom planned for our family (my mom, dad, brother and me) to travel to Guatemala on a mission trip with Perimeter Church. I had never been on a mission trip before, so I really had no clue what to expect. It was life-changing! Towards the end of the trip, the Guatemalan pastor/doctor (yes, he is superman), Dr. Alb was giving a devotional and wrapped up with a prayer. Various people would approach him and ask him to pray over them. I always felt sort of awkward about this, but something told me to go talk to him. I remember telling Dr. Alb to pray for my future husband. I do not remember everything he said in the prayer, but I do remember him saying something about preparing my heart to be a wife one day as well as my future husband, whoever he may be.

guatemala

My family and me in Guatemala

A few days after returning home, I received a call from one of my best friends, Paige. She told me that her fiancé, Daniel, and a bunch of his friends were throwing a 4th of July cookout/party that following Saturday. My other best friend, Christine had agreed to go with us as well.

When we first arrived in Athens, GA where all the guys were living at the time (except Daniel…he had already moved to Atlanta), we went in their apartment and started preparing some snacks and an American flag cake. I remember as I was working in the kitchen, David walked in. David is Daniel’s brother…and Daniel is married to my friend Paige who invited me to the cookout. At the time, Daniel and Paige were newly engaged. I already knew who David was, since he was Daniel’s older brother…I may or may not had already Facebook stalked him and called dibs. I was immediately smitten after meeting him in person. I didn’t even know him and I already had a huge crush.

july4

I had only known David for ONE HOUR when this photo was taken. Crazy!

Throughout the day, we spent time getting to know each other and realized we had a lot in common….and it was all history from there. That night, David messaged me and asked if I wanted to hang out again. Of course I said yes. The next weekend we went CAVING. Yes, our first date was a day trip to some caves that we crawled through. No worries, the next time we saw each other after caving was a real date to a nice Thai restaurant.

caving

Proof that crawling through caves happened.

After three months or so, we were already very serious. We spent every moment we could together and had already gotten to know each other’s families. David considered taking a job with the Department of State and asked me what I thought about getting married in case he were to get a job that required relocating. That is one of the reasons we moved so fast into marriage…besides the fact that we loved each other and really did want to get married. He ended up not getting that job, but we still moved forward with our marriage plans.

propose

He proposed at the Sundial in Atlanta. Daniel and Paige were there, secretly filming and taking photos.

Basically, we dated for six months until David proposed on December 28, 2010. Yes, he talked to my parents and they were totally on board with everything. We were engaged for exactly five months—our wedding day was May 28,2011….best day ever!

wedding3

That day was pure magic.

Yes, we moved fast, but we both truly knew that we were ready to be married. The prayer that was said while I was in Guatemala was answered—crazy to think I met my husband exactly ONE WEEK after Dr. Alb said that prayer over me. I still get chills every time I think about that.

cruise

On our amazing Carnival cruise, celebrating our 3 year wedding anniversary.

Leave a Reply

