Third Trimester

I cannot believe I am now 10 days from my due date. I honestly never thought I’d get here! It seemed so far away, and now, Silas could arrive at any time and be perfectly fine!

After a smooth and easy second trimester, my third was met with some unexpected issues that fortunately have not gotten too out of control….yet. At 28 weeks, I went to a routine OB check-up, which included a blood test to check my glucose levels. I also received a RhoGam injection, since my blood type is O-negative. We listened to baby’s heartbeat, they drew my blood, and then I left. About a week later, a nurse called to tell me that I passed my glucose test (thank goodness), but also told me that my platelets were low (99,000). The normal range for platelets is between 150,000 and 400,000. I had no idea what that meant, so the nurse said that women typically cannot receive an epidural during labor if her platelets are under 100,000. I was referred to a Hematologist.

Of course, I freaked out and was very on edge for several weeks. Luckily, my OB and Hematologist have taken great care of me, and have ensured me that everything will be fine. My blood pressure has stayed normal, and after starting on 10mg of Prednisone, my platelets have slowly risen. As of 5/5, they were at 111,000. I feel much more relaxed, and am not stressed out about this anymore. That is great, because the cut-off for an epidural is 100,000. I’d love to try to labor and deliver drug-free, but I have no idea what to expect, so I want to make sure I will qualify for an epidural if I need relief. Hopefully my numbers will go back to normal once Silas arrives!

We also have a Doula! Her name is Fran, and she is Deborah’s (Tom’s girlfriend) mom. She is a retired Nurse Practitioner and certified Doula, and we are very excited to work with her. I am so grateful that she is willing to be there for us during my labor and delivery.

I feel very relaxed and ready for Silas to make his arrival when the time is right. I am not worrying about my platelets, blood pressure, or anything else. Worrying will not get me anywhere, and there is nothing I can do but trust that everything will work out the way it is supposed to. We cannot wait to meet our son, I cannot believe the time is almost here!

Leave a Reply

